To continue to use this website you first need to accept the use of cookies. Without accepting cookies, you will not be able to use certain features such as the Member's Zone. For more information, read this page.

Sivewright Trophy

The Sivewright Quaich was instigated by W. A. W. Sivewright, past Captain, Honorary Vice President and President of our club, member of the 1948 Dispatch Trophy winning team and one of a distinguished band of people who have been President of the Lothians Golf Association (1960-62) and of the Scottish Golf Union (1966-68). He also served as Secretary of the Lothians (1951-1958). The idea for the event was in response to an increase in the subscriptions, by the SGU, for what were called non-course owning clubs at the time. (Now known as Societies)

The format is a handicap version of the Dispatch Trophy where four-man teams play foursomes aggregate match play in a knock-out competition during the season.

The final has been traditionally played at Prestonfield Golf Club, which was Bill's home club.

Heriot's have won the Sivewright Quaich on two occasions in 1999 and 2012.

Winning teams

2012 Sivewright Quaich Winners at Prestonfield:
P. Williams, G. Greenhill, G. Leslie and A. Slessor

1999 Sivewright Quaich Winners at Prestonfield:

I. L. Crichton, J. Langlands, K. Murphy and G. M. P. Abbott.